National Academy Honors Two IMASC Scientists

Joanna AizenbergCynthia FriendNot one but two IMASC members were honored May 1, 2019 with election to the National Academy of Sciences in Chemistry.

Senior Investigator Prof. Joanna Aizenberg was cited for “…being the pioneer of the budding field of bioinspired materials chemistry, applying lessons from natural systems to inventing artificial materials with unprecedented properties. She has made groundbreaking, seminal contributions to biomineralization, crystal engineering, smart surfaces, and antifouling and stimuli-responsive materials that display unique hierarchical designs.”

Director Prof. Cynthia Friend was cited for “… making decisive contributions in surface chemistry through her multi-scale research in catalysis—from gold single crystal surfaces to nanoporous gold catalysts and from controlled conditions in ultrahigh vacuum to practical reaction conditions at atmospheric pressure. Her work has established principles governing the surface chemistry of selective oxidation reactions.”

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) was established in 1863 by an Act of Congress, signed by President Lincoln, as a private, nongovernmental institution to advise the nation on issues related to science and technology. Members are elected by their peers for outstanding contributions to research. Election to the NAS is one of the highest honors a scientist can recieve, and also provides provides a platform for advocacy and leadership.